Wakefield  01924 387 171

Leeds  0113 397 9550

Pontefract  01977 790 029

Getting under the skin of our newest recruit - Jason Deacon

JWP Solicitors Blog - Wakefield, Leeds and Pontefract

Speak to our legal experts on

01924 387 171

27 March 2019

Getting under the skin of our newest recruit - Jason Deacon

This month we posed some seriously probing questions to our newest team member. Here's what he divulged....

 

What would you be if you weren’t a Chartered Legal Executive?

 

"I think that I would have liked to do something outdoors. Maybe a Park Ranger in a National Park or a National Trail guide" 


What does a typical day look like for Jason Deacon?

 

"A typical day would start with arriving at the office, and having my first of many cups of coffee.  I’ll then respond to any emails received overnight, and post received that morning.  If not attending at court to represent clients then there will be appointments through the day either in person or by telephone. I am a Family Lawyer and so provide advice to clients, mainly, in relation to the effects of a breakdown in relationships.  This involves issues regarding arrangements for children, finances, divorce where appropriate or separation agreements if not.  I also advise clients who may be intending to live with a partner and would like to regulate the way they will deal with their finances should they separate in the future.  In between appointments or at the end of the working day I would then dictate notes, letters etc for those client’s matters in order to progress their case. If possible, I may be able to fit in a short run near home before the start of my 6 year old daughter’s bedtime routine."

 

If you could go back to the beginning of your career, what advice would you give yourself?


"Listen to advice and be prepared to read (a lot!)"

 

What might someone be surprised to know about you?


"That I’m only 48." 


What do you enjoy doing when you’re not working?


"When not at work I like sports (both playing and watching). I play 5 a side football each week, play golf when I can, and fairly recently took up running, although the pace I go at is perhaps more accurately described as jogging!

 

I enjoy walking and try to get up to the Yorkshire Dales and the Lakes a few times each year. I also love the Yorkshire Coast and try to get across there frequently so that I can do a bit of walking along the cliffs and spend hours with my daughter in the amusements." 


What’s your favourite personal achievement, outside work?

 

"I am a very proud father and I consider having my daughter as a great achievement.  But, as that is a shared achievement with my wife I’ll have to say the hole in one that I got last year."

 

Gareth Long